A number of cemeteries are located throughout the Waikato district and are maintained by the Waikato District Council. 

View these cemeteries on our interactive map.

Cemeteries are provided in the following Waikato district locations:

  • Alexandra Redoubt Cemetery 
  • Gordonton Cemetery
  • Huntly Kimihia Cemetery
  • Jackson Street Cemetery
  • Maramarua Cemetery
  • Mercer Cemetery
  • Ngaruawahia Old Cemetery
  • Okete Cemetery
  • Onewhero Cemetery
  • Orini Cemetery
  • Pokeno Cemetery
  • Pokeno Old Soldiers Cemetery
  • Raglan Cemetery
  • Rangiriri Cemetery
  • Rangiriri Old Cemetery
  • Taupiri Cemetery
  • Te Mata Cemetery
  • Tuakau Cemetery
  • Waerenga Cemetery
  • Waiterimu / Matahuru Cemetery
  • Whatawhata Cemetery

Private cemeteries and Urupa

A number of private cemeteries and Urupa exist within the Waikato district. The Waikato District Council is not directly involved in the functioning of these, however, we can set aside an area of a council cemetery for a denominational area. If you would like more information about the cemeteries in the Waikato district please phone 0800 492 452 or email info@waidc.govt.nz.

If the site is on Maaori owned land:

  • The interested party needs to go to the Maori Land Court and apply for the land (all or part) to be set aside as a reserve under s. 338 of the Maori Land Act 1993.

If the site is not on Maaori owned land (for example religious denominational burials on private land):

  • The interested party needs to go to the Ministry of Health to obtain approval to have the land set aside for burial purposes.